norman lebrecht

September 06, 2023

This Sunday’s men’s final will be preceded by a performance of America the Beautiful by baritone Will Liverman and members of the Metropolitan Opera Orchestra, with music director Yannick Nézet-Séguin on piano. The arrangement of ‘America the Beautiful’ and ‘Lift Every Voice’ for voice, piano and brass is by John Sheppard and Tetsuro Hoshii. The other participating musicians are Billy Hunter (trumpet), Brad Gemeinhardt (French horn), Anne Scharer (French horn), Sasha Romero (trombone), and Weston Sprott (trombone).

Liverman opened the Met’s 2021–22 season as the lead in Terence Blanchard’s “Fire Shut Up in My Bones,” the first opera by a Black composer in the company’s history. He returns in November to star in Anthony Davis’s “X: The Life and Times of Malcolm X.”

Source link

By mrtrv

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *